Posted by: jamesthethickheaded | September 24, 2008

If I Had Three Wishes…

If I had one wish the next time my elected folks got in front of a camera or walked anywhere in public, it’s that they had to wear suits like Nascar drivers. No I’m not talking about the fire resistant element so much.. though considering the consequences of their fabrications that might come in handy. No, what I’m talking about is having each and every rep wear the patches of their sponsors over the last 12 or 18 months or so. Size would be proportional to either the effort of solicitation, or the total funds raised… I’d leave that to others to pick. I mean either way, we’d know who’s really talking. Always liked truth in advertising.

And if the good fairies gave me a second wish.. it’d be that folks would vote on the same day they filed their taxes. Kind of focuses the mind on getting something of what you’re paying for… or not. At least it would spur turnout. Better yet… maybe put the ballot form ON the tax return so that everybody would have to vote. That would sure stir up a few surprises I couldn’t even begin to wonder.

Now the third wish after these two would be for some bullet proof clothing. I mean unintended consequences being what they are, and the way word gets out… I think I’d need it. 🙂


Responses

  1. I’m totally on board with wish # 1.

    I’m on board with wish # 2, though not on the tax return. Perhaps the voting centers could be next to the post office.

    Why you’d need bullet proof clothing I sure don’t know but perhaps I’ll need it too since I like your idea!

    Haaaahhhaaaa!


Leave a Reply

Categories

