Posted by: jamesthethickheaded | February 21, 2008

Slogans

As long as we’re talking slogans… thought I’d note that while I was in-between my place of origin and Orthodoxy, I started reading the Old Testament… again. Came across a passage in Exodus that gets repeated over and over and then again in Deuteronomy. It sank in. Became my motto… because it seemed to be how it felt to be in-between. It’s awkward… no doubt about it. You feel as if you are bereft of your homeland and seeking a place to worship… not all that unlike a story we already know, huh? Anyway, I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s had a favorite passage from scripture or slogan that kept them going. Mine was simply this:

“The Lord took you and brought you out of the iron furnace, from Egypt, to be His people, an inheritance, as you are this day.”  – Deuteronomy 4:20 (OSB)

Yeah, I guess it sort of had to the Orthodox Church, huh? Well, I’m curious whether anyone else done been down this road?


Leave a Reply

Categories

